learnenglishadvanced.com

Show Menu Show Books

Text size: small | medium | large

Language options:

Phrasal Verbs and Advanced Vocabulary

See how many upper-intermediate and advanced level English language students love Practical Everyday English. They have all seen their comprehension of English conversation, phrasal verbs and English vocabulary improve.

english phrasal verb books

phrasal verb textbooks book 2 free lesson book 1 free lesson book 3 free lesson

Testimonials & reviews for 'Practical Everyday English'

(For Dutch and German reviews, please scroll down.)
 

Amazon readers' comments on the latest version of the book:

Absolutely PERFECT! Even if you live in a non-english speaking country! If you struggle to understand films and native speakers talking to teach other, THIS BOOK IS FOR YOU!
Until now I've studied 5 chapters of this book and listened every day at least once the audio lesson. It's really focused on the words native speakers use in their everyday life. Before this book, I used to understand 50-60% of films, british soaps, etc. Now, it's about 80-90%. Great improvement, uh?

Rodrigo Albuquerque, 10 Mar 2010 (amazon.co.uk reviewer)

Fantastic book for foreign speakers. This is a fantastic book for foreign speakers of English who already have good basics. When I came to England from Italy my grammar wasn't too bad, but I Had to cope with many idioms and phrasal verbs and English has such a huge vocabulary. I got totally fed up sitting bored in English language schools and I didn't need exams. And then I found this book Practical Everyday English. After reading the first two chapters, I began to recognise more expressions and with constant practice I really improved. This new version has a CD which I have found very useful because they speak really quickly, just like in real life. This book has saved me a lot of money in English classes. Advanced students don't need lessons… just this amazing book.

G. Cucchiara, (London, U.K.) 17 Jun 2008

Excellent book for speaking English well. My wife already had good English but since using this book I have noticed a big improvement in her comprehension when with friends and her everyday vocabulary is much more natural. This is a great book if you want to really improve your everday English.

Mr. S. G. Grant, (England) 16 Jun 2008


Amazon readers' comments on the earlier version of the book:

Fantastic book! I find this book very useful because I was able to find the reasons why English people used some words which I did not understand at that time. When I read this book lot of things are explained in a simple language. As someone from Poland I find this book fantastic to use and learn English vocabulary and phrases from. I will strongly recommend this book for someone from abroad who would like to learn English. Fantastic book.
The above review is the comment form my wonderful Polish friend to whom I suggested this book. I agree with her reviews. Its really a fantastic book.

"Ken the teaman", (Europe) 14 March 2008

From shy to outgoing. For those of you who wanted to talk English but couldn't because words did not come out, take this piece of advise: buy it. When I moved to England I knew "the basics" but I could not use it becuase I did not know when, how… I turned to a very shy guy. With this book everything got back in place (without dictionaries)… I could do presentations, enjoy the british culture itself. And everything while riding the tube, taking a bus or watching TV. You will improve by leaps and bounds.

Jose Raul Mata Caliz, (Washington, DC) 3 Mar 2006

If English is a foreign language for you, look no further! For Foreign English Speakers (students and and those who want to improve their skills without taking classes) this book should be advertised as one of those miraculous medicines that ensure a remedy for almost anything. This is my personal opinion and I am sure that once you have discovered it, you will agree. I had reached a point in which I felt "sick" and tired of being stuck despite my efforts, did not matter how much I spoke, how much I read, progress came very, very slow; well, here the solution was, it works!! you will get to the next stage with this book, with its expressions, with its method of teaching; It is simple and effective. I am sure that if you use it systematically even native speakers will be impressed by your progress!

José, (Madrid, Spain) 26 Feb 2006

Very handy. I find Everyday English by Steve Collins absolutely amazing. It is astonishingly well designied tutorial of the language English people speak.
First of all the book contains hundreds of expresions that come in very handy in everyday life, thus it turns out to be a real treasure for everyone who fancy the language and is ambitious enough to have a go at communicating on a native speakers' level. What is more, excellent examples are given to every single expression, which makes putting them into action significantly easier.
At last, but definitely not the least, since new idioms are consequently repeated throughout the book, memorising them becomes virtually effortless.
I am not a native speaker, and obviously I will never be, but having read the book I strongly believe that using the language in a way native speakers do is to a certain extent possible.

Zibi, (Poland) 4 Dec 2005

The best book on idiomatic English I have ever read. The examples in this book helped me "get to grips with" every day idioms and phrasal verbs. Nearly all of them contain words or expressions that have been taught on earlier pages. This meant that I was continually reminded of the words I had studied and I now find it much easier to converse with English-speaking people. My comprehension of spoken English has improved dramatically. I can't wait for the next book.

"A Customer" 27 Jun 2000


Dutch readers' comments and reviews:

Uitdagend. Het doet wat het belooft: je spreekvaardigheid verbeteren op een natuurlijke manier. Veel voorkennis is wel nodig! De opbouw van het boek is goed: uitdrukkingen en woorden worden behandeld in duidelijke context, dvd heeft 'echt' Engels en met oefeningen kan je checken wat is blijven hangen. Aanrader en uitdagende vorm om je Engels op niveau te krijgen!

Bol.com, Jacqueline Blom, (Den Haag) 11 nov 2008

My English is OK. Het nieuwe zelfstudieboek Practical Everyday English richt zich op Nederlanders die natuurlijk Engels willen spreken. Brits-Engels, welteverstaan.
Vloeiend in Engels, staat er vaak op het cv van Nederlanders. Zet ze echter aan een tafeltje met Engelsen en zie wat er gebeurt: ze begrijpen grapjes niet, missen de gevatheid die ze in het Nederlands soms wel hebben. Volgens schrijver van Practical Everyday English, Steven Collins, kennen Nederlanders veel Britse zegswijzen niet en zetten ze woorden soms in een rare volgorde. Zo zeggen wij volgens hem: 'I'm out for lunch'. Grammaticaal correct, maar geen Engelsman die het uit zijn mond krijgt. Die zou zeggen: 'I'm off to lunch'. Nog een voorbeeld Nederlanderszeggen: 'My Spanish is OK'. Een Engelsman: 'I can get by in Spanish'.
In het pas verschenen leerboek staan meer dan honderd van zulke Britse zegswijzen. Soms gaat het om woorden ('daunting') soms om uitdrukkingen ('to put down for'). In het boek staan ook oefeningen.
Minpuntje is dat Collins zijn boek niet speciaal voor Nederlanders schreef. Daardoor staan er ook uitdrukkingen in die elke Nederlander al kent. Zoals easy-going en hint.
Mis je hele gespreksflarden van programma's op de BBC dan is het een zinvol leerboek. Twijfel je over je niveau: blader dan in de winkel even door het boek. Begrijp je meer dan de helft van de uitdrukkingen niet, dan is het een nuttige aanschaf.

Dagblad De Pers, 28 October 2008

I see it through the fingers. Engels spreken we allemaal wel, al is het basaal. Veel Nederlandse bedrijven hanteren tegenwoordig echter ingewikkelde Engelstalige functietitels en -benamingen voor afdelingen. Bovendien moet een flexibele multitasker met hands-on-mentaliteit anno 2008 wel wat zakelijk Engels spreken. Practical Everyday English is eigenlijk bedoeld om universitaire studenten te leren een gedegen gesprek in het Engels te voeren. Maar wij achten het ook bijzonder geschikt voor zakenmannen die nog wel eens de plank misslaan met 'for this time I see through the fingers' of 'there comes the monkey out of the sleeve'. Dit zelfstudieboek geeft praktische voorbeelden en er zit een cd bij. Een voorbeeld, rechtstreeks van de werkvloer: 'I wish somobody would tell me what all the fuss is about.' Directeur: 'Well, if you had turned up to our last three meetings, you'd have been aware of the stalemate we've reached.'

Carp, 15 October 2008

Leer vloeiend Engels met internationaal geprezen boek en cd. Hoe is uw zaken-Engels? Fairly good, huh? Wees eerlijk, het is gewoon toe curling. Dit boek (met audio-cd) is een simpele zelfstudie om de Engelse spreekvaardigheid te verbeteren. Om een goed idee te krijgen van de methode, is het handig naar de testpagina te surfen: www.learnenglishadvancad.com/test.html

Management en Consulting, nr.5, 2008

'Practical Everyday English' (inclusief audio-cd) is speciaal geschreven voor degenen die al een goede basis hebben van de Engelse grammatica en hun gespreksvaardigheden willen verbeteren. Anders dan een woordenboek leert u met dit boek hoe en wanneer u woorden gebruikt. Hierbij krijgt u realistische voorbeelden, onderhoudende dialogen en handige oefeningen.

Manager & Literatuur, 14 October 2008


A German Amazon reader's comments on the earlier version of the book:

Variation. Ich habe mir dieses Buch während meiner Zeit in England gekauft und fand es unheimlich unterstÜtzend im täglichen Lernen. Der Titel ist sehr treffend gewählt. Es werden verschiedene Alltagsthemen durchgenommen, die jedem auch wirklich passieren können.
Das gesamte Buch ist natÜrlich in Englisch. Die Vokabelbeschreibungen sind sehr ausfÜhrlich, wobei aber auch immer eine Kurzbeschreibung hinter jedem Wort in Klammern vorhanden ist. Außerdem werden immer 2 Beispiele fÜr die Anwendung aufgezeigt.
Die in einem Kapitel gelernten Vokabeln werden in einem Text wiederholt, so dass man sehen kann, wie diese im Alltäglichen angewendet werden. Außerdem gibt es Übungen dazu und jedes Kapitel baut wieder auf den vorherigen auf, d. h. die bereits gelernten Vokabeln werden später wieder verwendet um neue Vokabeln zu erklären.

B. Kraus, 3 April 2008

German reviews

Ich spreche fließend Englisch! Das kann mittlerweile ein großer Teil der Weltbev�lkerung von sich behaupten. Doch wie sieht es mit der Umsetzung in der Praxis aus? Den meisten fiel es leicht sich mit dem Lehrer in Schule, Studium oder Sprachkurs zu verständigen, doch das "Everyday English" ist ein ganz anderes. Read more

Von Juliane Pohl, April 2009

Der letzte Schliff fÜr perfektes Englisch im Job, im Alltag und auf Reisen Do you speak English? Diese Frage beantworten die meisten mit einem klaren und Überzeugten: Ja. Die ErnÜchterung kommt gerade bei fortgeschrittenen Lernern, wenn sie dann mit Muttersprachlern im Land zusammentreffen. Plötzlich versteht man nur die Hälfte, alles Gelernte klingt steif und man muss sich anstrengen, im Gespräch nicht den Anschluss zu verpassen.
Steven Collins kennt diese Startschwierigkeiten aus seiner langjährigenen Unterrichtspraxis. Im Fremdsprachenunterricht wird die Alltagssprache zu wenig trainiert. Der Autor hat deshalb eine Selbstlemmethode entwickelt, die Englischlernern mit guten bis sehr guten Vorkenntnissen den letzten Schliff im Alltagsenglisch gibt.
Collins betont, dass "good conversational English" im Mittelpunkt steht - nämlich die gehobene Alltagssprache, die in jeder Situation akzeptiert wird. Dazu gehört auch eine Prise Slang, ohne den keine lebendige Sprache auskommt.
'Practical Everyday English' funktioniert nach einem einfachen Prinzip: Collins stellt schrittweise typische Konstruktionen und Wendungen vor und baut sie im Verlauf des Buches systematisch in andere Zusammenhänge ein. Das Lerntempo bestimmt der Leser selbst. Er kann Kapitel fÜr Kapitel vorgehen oder selektiv einzelne Passagen herausgreifen. Kurze Erklärungen und Übungen unterstÜtzen den Lernprozess. Ergänzt wird Practical Everyday English von einer Audio-CD. Das besondere an ihnen ist, dass sich die Sprecher in normaler bis hoher Geschwindigkeit von Mutersprachlern unterhalten. Weitere Informationen unter http://www.learnenglishadvanced.com
'Practical Everyday English', A self-study method of spoken English for upper and intermediate and advanced students Mit Audio CD 2009, 212 Seiten, 26 Euro (D/A) Montserrat Publishing, London ISBN 0-9528358-2-7.

Rhein-Neckar Zeitung, 20. Mai 2009

In seinem Buch zeigt Steven Collins wie jeder seine englischen Fähigkeiten schnell und systematisch ausbauen kann. Er betont, dass "good conversational English" im Mittelpunkt steht - nämlich die gehobene Alltagssprache, die in jeder Situation akzeptiert wird. Er stellt schrittweise typische Konstruktionen und Wendungen vor und baut sie im Verlauf des Buches systematisch in andere Zusammenhänge ein. Das bereits Gelernte wird benutzt und erweitert. Ergänzt wird das Buch von einer Audio-CD. Auf ihr finden sich die Dialoge, die jedes Kapitel abschließen. Sie soll den Lerner im Hören auf die Alltagssituation vorbereiten und das Gelernte trainieren. Ausprobieren!

hermann - das Magazin 01.Juli 2009

Die Frage "Do you speak English? wird meist im Brustton der Überzeugung mit "Yes, 1 do!" beantwortet. Doch die ErnÜchterung läßt oft nicht lange auf sich warten, wenn man mit "Native Speakers" zusammentrifft, Plötzlich nur noch die Hälfte der Unterhaltung mitkriegt und sich trotz heftigen BemÜhens der eigene Beitrag recht steif und ungelenk anhört.
Üblicherweise wird im Fremdsprachenunterricht die Alltagssprache zu wenig trainiert. Aus unserer eigenen Schulzeit kennen wir das noch: Da wird höchst niveauvolle Lyrik behandelt, aber wie man den Weg zum Bahnhof erfragen soll, bleibt nebulös. Diese Startschwierigkeiten kennt der Autor Steven Collins aus seiner langjährigen Lehrtätigkeit, und hat deshalb eine Selbstlernmethode entwickelt, die Englischlernern mit guten bis sehr guten Vorkenntnissen den letzten Schliff in der Umgangssprache vermittelt.
"Practical Everyday English" stellt die gehobene Alltagssprache in den Mittelpunkt, die in jeder Situation angewandt werden kann. Dazu gehört auch eine Portion Slang, ohne die keine lebendige Sprache auskommt und die auch, in "Upper Classes" akzeptiert wird. Collins stellt in seinem Buch schrittweise typische Satz-Konstruktionen und Redewendungen vor und baut sie immer wieder in andere Zusammenhänge ein. Das erarbeitete Wissen läßt sich so in neuen Gesprächskontexten nutzen und erweitert die Eloquenz.
Der Leser bestimmt sein Lerntempo selbst - ein Luxus, den die Studierenden sonst nicht haben! Das Buch wird von einer Audio-CD begleitet. Darin werden die einzelnen Kapitel mit einem Dialog behandelt, wobei die Sprecher die normale bis hohe Geschwindigkeit, von Muttersprachlern wählen. Anfangs mag es schwierig sein, die Dialoge ohne die Mithilfe des Buches zu verstehen, aber genau darin liegt der Sinn des Trainings, um später auf Alltagssituationen gut vorbereitet zu sein.
Das Buch "Practical Everyday English" (A self-study method of spoken English for upper and intermediate and advanced students) ist fÜr 26,- Euro unter der Bestellnummer ISBN 0-9528358-2-7, Herausgeber: Montserrat Publishing, London, im Buchhandel erhältlich.

RS-Anzeigenblatt 20.Mai 2009